Reviewerverse Free Press Sits Down With LadySpaz!

A special bonus interview for today!

Mehe: Hello, and welcome to Reviewerverse Free Press! Today, LadySpaz is having a seat in our chair!

LadySpaz: Hey!

Mehe: We always start with asking our interviewee to tell us a little about themselves and their show. Care to share?

LadySpaz: Well, I’m 26 and living in New York. I have a BA in European History from University of Albany and I work at Staples for the time being. I aspire to be in film and/or theatre and that’s worked out well so far. I just helped out Oancitizen with his SAG thesis film. As for my show, it’s called Fool’s Gold: The Mediocrity of the Golden Age of Hollywood and I review all the terrible movies released by Hollywood from the birth of film through 1964. I also review some good things too.

Mehe: What made you focus on the Golden Age rather than taking the route most reviews choose of looking at today’s entertainment?

LadySpaz: I think that “Those who don’t know history are doomed to repeat it.” also applies to Hollywood. I think that if you don’t take a look at the pioneers of film, you don’t really understand where today’s filmmakers get their influences. I am also a huge Chaplin fan.

Mehe: It’s truly a different approach. What got you into doing video reviews?

LadySpaz: Honestly? I’m a huge fan of Linkara and of The Cinema Snob. A friend of mine actually introduced me to ThatGuyWithTheGlasses.com with Nostalgia Critic’s Top 11 Hottest Animated Women. I frequented the site a lot after that and I decided to do something that no one had really done before. I poked around, did some research and saw no one really did Classic Hollywood. There was old vs. new, but it still had today’s entertainment. While I put references from today in my videos, I don’t really talk about today’s entertainment unless it pertains to Hollywood Classics.

Mehe: Could you take us through your process a little? Choosing a movie to review and so on?

LadySpaz: Well, I went through a book that had most Golden Age movies and did the research, made a schedule and so on. I have taken fan suggestions: Seven Doors to Death was one of them. When I choose a movie, it has to be something that intrigues me, whether for better or for worse, then I sit down and I do the research. My editor, Joe, and I sit through the movie and script after that. We usually shoot for 2 days, then editing takes 4-7 days depending on how busy we both are with our day jobs.

Mehe: Where can we find you on the web?

LadySpaz: blip.tv/ladyspaz and foolsgoldenage.blogspot.com as well as Nerdvice.com.

Mehe: How has being a reviewer affected how you look at films from the Golden Age now?

LadySpaz: I’m much more analytical with all the movies I see. I can actually break things down and see where the director was going, even if sometimes it doesn’t translate to screen. I also do that when I see today’s entertainment as well.

Mehe: How does the Golden Age compare to today’s entertainment in your opinion?

LadySpaz: Honestly, it’s apples and oranges. But I will say that for every movie that sucks today, you can find a movie that sucks from then. I think that most of the tropes of today can be traced to Classic Hollywood. Movie stars becoming household names really started with Douglas Fairbanks and Charlie Chaplin. Child stars started then as well: Jackie Coogan and Shirley Temple. Most of the Golden Age set precedents for today until some of today’s filmmakers shattered some of the classic expectations.

Mehe: You mentioned earlier that you’d worked on Oancitizen’s SAG thesis film What, if anything, can you tell us about that?

LadySpaz: I was originally hired as his script supervisor, but I apparently helped him quite a bit with it. I was promoted to assistant director and was essentially his right hand. I helped find him space, budgeting, SAG, and the like. But what I can tell you is that it’s a political satire involving time travel and that it’s a really fun script. He’s currently editing a rough cut. The actors were a joy to work with and Kyle is probably the second nicest director I’ve ever had the pleasure of working with.

Mehe: It sounds like it was quite the experience!

LadySpaz: It was. Exhausting to go to set every day and get everything ready to. Plus I got sick halfway through, so I had to drink a lot of tea.

Mehe: I know a lot of people can’t wait to see it.

LadySpaz: So I’ve heard. I’m actually really excited to see what he does with it. We got a lot of footage and everyone on set was spot on. We had a professional, but causal atmosphere.

Mehe: Any advice for up and coming reviewers?

LadySpaz: Just do it. The hardest hurdle is doing it. I know it sounds cliche but it’s true. Also, take risks. You never know what will happen.

Mehe: If someone were looking to start watching your reviews, where would you recommend they start?

LadySpaz: My review of Bride of the Gorilla is actually a pretty good place to start.

Mehe: And which would you term your best?

LadySpaz: Murder By Television is probably the best one I’ve put out so far.

Mehe: Other than movie reviews, what do you enjoy doing?

LadySpaz: Oh, I love to play video games! I’m also a huge Pathfinder gamer. I am currently in a really geeky Pathfinder game that fuses Pokemon and Pathfinder together. It’s really fun. I am also a huge professional wrestling fan. I love AJ Lee and I can’t stop talking about her on Twitter.

Mehe: AJ is adorable!

LadySpaz: Right? I would love to meet her in real life. My favorite wrestlers are AJ, CM Punk, Kane, the Undertaker, and Damien Sandow at the moment.

Mehe: Would you call AJ your favorite wrestler? Or someone else?

LadySpaz: AJ is my favorite Diva by far. Sorry, Trish Stratus. And she’s also my favorite current wrestler. But my favorite wrestlers of all time are tied. Undertaker and Edge. I cried when Edge retired. I was in England, studying abroad when it was announced.

Mehe: What’s been your best experience as a reviewer?

LadySpaz: MAGFest for the first time. It was an amazing experience

Mehe: MAGFest has been called Reviewer Christmas.

LadySpaz: I can see why.

Mehe: So, as we wind this interview to a close, any final thoughts or parting words?

LadySpaz: I think that everyone should at least do what they love, rather than be in it for the money. I don’t do it for the money or the recognition, though it is nice, I do it because it’s fun.

Mehe: Truer words are hard to find. We thank you so much for taking some time out of your day to speak with us!

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Reviewerverse Free Press

Here at Reviewerverse Free Press, we strive to give you the interviews from the Reviewers that you love. Started by Michelle "Mehe" Smith, we already have a number of interviews lined up for your enjoyment. We strive to give you the information about your favorite online personalities. So, please visit often for you never know who we'll be talking to next.

Leave a comment